Where God Intended.

Since it has been quite a while since my last post, I thought it might be good idea to give a quick update on what has been happening thus far this year. The never-ending winter/spring was filled with the finishing up of support raising and the lengthy process of obtaining a visa to stay in Slovenia. After many trips to the jail (for fingerprinting…obviously), receiving the necessary background checks and documentation for the Slovene embassy, I received my visa at the end of April. Then on May 13th, I got the official okay to purchase a one-way ticket to Slovenia and exactly one week later I was on the plane(s), headed for Slovenia.

And what a crazy couple of months it has been here!! The month of June was full of camp promotion and presentations in schools, and then planning and preparing for English camp (Wow! I apologize for packing that sentence full of “p” words). July began with our team from Maribor, along with 20 Slovene students and 9 Americans from Florida headed to a castle in Millstatt, Austria for a week of English awesomeness. The week was incredible. It was such a blast spending the week with the students and getting to know them better. I’ve attached a video that our amazing intern Micah did to give you all a glimpse into the week.

Since returning from camp, I have been able to further develop friendships with the students and continue the process of transitioning and adjusting to a new culture. I am currently looking for an apartment, which makes me feel like I am on House Hunters International. And soon I will dive in to learning Slovene. This upcoming fall promises to be busy as our team starts the music ministry Fusion back up again, and the English program begins as well.

“I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be.” –Douglas Adams

I saw this quote a while back and believe it accurately describes my current position in life. While, I may not have envisioned living in Slovenia when I first began the journey of moving overseas and working with Josiah Venture, I remain confident that I am exactly where God intended me to be.

Grace be with you all.

Teach me Your way, O LORD; I will walk in Your truth. –Psalm 86:11

Leave a Reply

