Yuletide Happenings.

I am thoroughly enjoying winter here in Slovenia. While I do miss snow, I am loving the warmer temps of this winter here in Slovenia. I see Facebook posts of family and friends back in MN about the -40 degree temps and really, I truly am thankful, that my snot does not freeze in my nose every time I go outside this year. (Gross…I know, but a real struggle for those accustomed to winters on the tundra). Well besides enjoying an Indian Winter, if that is such a thing, there has been plenty of lovely times that have been had in this neck of the woods. Here is a quick glimpse of that past couple of months of life here in Slovenia.

In December I traveled up to the Czech Republic to enjoy some much need vacation and rest time with my friend and teammate Gwynne Gardner. We spent time at Selah, a place Josiah Venture has created to rest, relax and be renewed, and went to Prague to see and experience the city at Christmastime. It was a great time of being refreshed, seeing friends, and drinking plenty of Starbucks (a luxury not afforded to us here in Slovenia).

Lovely vacation time spent in Czech with my dear friend Gwynne Gardner.

In Prague!

Upon returning to Slovenia, my team here in Maribor and I celebrated Christmas with our students! This was a great evening of hanging out, having a decorating contest and White Elephant gift exchange.

Christmas house creation! (Reminds me a little of Buddy's breakfast in "Elf")

Christmas house creation! (Reminds me a little of Buddy’s breakfast in “Elf”)

Christmas Party Shenanigans.

Christmas Party Shenanigans.

While Christmas was definitely different for me this year, I had a great time here in Slovenia celebrating with dear friends and teammates. Not going “home” for Christmas was hard, but this helped me to became more aware of what Christ did for us that first Christmas. Jesus Christ left His heavenly home to be born in the filth of a stable, so that 33 years later He would die and be raised to life so that we could spend eternity with Him. I am grateful for this incredible truth and reminder this Christmas!

Christmas dinner with Johnny, Brooke and Kinsley Stevens, Gwynne Gardner and Urh Kolar!

Christmas dinner with Johnny, Brooke and Kinsley Stevens, Gwynne Gardner and Urh Kolar!

Family Christmas Photo this year!

Family Christmas Photo this year!

I have never been in a band. But this was the year I finally became “cool enough” to be in a band. I had the privilege of playing with my friends Maruša, Andrej and Robi. Maruša has written over 50 songs, and we had a concert and got to perform just a fraction of them with her!

Maruša & Friends.

Maruša & Friends.

A little over a week ago a group of us from 4 different JV countries met in Vienna with the grand hopes of ice skating. Ice skating was closed, but nonetheless we had a great time hanging out in the city and feasting on hamburgers (a rare treat…no, that was not intended as a pun).

There will always be next year to try ice skating again.

There will always be next year to try ice skating again.

 

God has truly blessed me with seeing and being a part of some amazing things this last year and I am looking forward to what He is going to do this year! Grace and peace in Jesus Christ to you all.

SCREČNO NOVO LETO!

Leave a Reply

