A Year in Slovenia

I find it hard to believe that 365 days have already passed since I held up the security check line while crying and saying goodbye to my family, boarded the plane(s) and set off for Slovenia. In 1 Chronicles 16:12, David writes, “Remember the wondrous works that He [God] has done.” As I reflect on this last year, I am remembering the many things that God has taught me, and the wondrous work that He has done during my time thus far in Slovenia. And so I will share a few of these lessons here:

I have learned to ask for help. This is huge for me. Let’s be honest though, I am still working on this one. I do not like to ask for help. I like to say I have accomplished things on my own and be self-sufficient. But God has not called us to live and work and serve in isolation. God, and others too, have continually reminded me that it is okay to ask for help. This last year has forced me to ask. Help with language, translation, finding an apartment and car, and recipe substitutions, is only a fraction of the ways that I have needed and relied on others. But God has placed me amongst an amazing team and church here in Slovenia that has been so incredibly helpful. He has taught me the blessing and the need of living in community with others.

On a practical note, I have learned to cook. A pretty simple, but necessary life skill to have. And I actually like it…that is the real miracle! I probably should have known how to cook before living on my own, but this has forced me not to rely on cereal and sandwiches as main staples of my diet. Believe me, I tried it last winter. After a few months I actually wanted to eat some vegetables. I was so happy in March to finally get an oven. Now my cooking skills and variety have gone to a whole new level! (Like from spaghetti level to chicken and potatoes level).

Probably the most significant lesson that I have been learning this past year is that CHRIST IS ENOUGH. I think that God is always teaching this, but in the last year I have experienced this truth in a new and amazing ways. I specifically remember last summer praying and crying out to God, feeling utterly alone and wondering what the heck I got myself in to here in Slovenia. And God’s reply to this cry was this, “Yes, I know you are lonely. And you are going to be lonely. But you are learning that I am enough.” He did not promise that I would never feel alone, but that He Himself is sufficient. When I am lonely, frustrated at the lack of understanding language or just plain tired, Christ continues to speak in to my life that He is more than enough.

I am so thankful for the many ways that God has been teaching, stretching and growing me this last year. I am also so grateful for this time I have had in Slovenia and I am so glad to be here! I am looking forward to the wondrous works that God will accomplish this next year!!

Leave a Reply

